I bought the parts, so...now what?

Knghtmare

Distinguished
Jul 15, 2011
Okay, not that bad really.

Suffice to say that I am an IT Professional and know my way around the guts of a computer, however I am by no means an A+ Guru. With that said I have built a few machines, many years ago and so I am am fairly confident that I can get this thing together, installed, and running in relative short order. However, I never approach a machine lightly even if something looks simple.

So.....here are the parts I purchased:

Case: Cooler Master HAF922 ATX Mid Tower Case
PSU: Cooler Master Silent Pro M850
MoBo: Gigabyte GA-Z68XP-UD3 LGA 1155 Intel Z68
CPU: Intel Core i5-2500K
RAM: Patriot 8GB Divison 2 DDR3 1600MHz CL9
SSD: Crucial 128 GB m4 2.5-Inch Solid State Drive SATA 6Gb/s
HDD: WD Caviar Black 1 TB SATA III 7200 RPM 64MB Cache WD1002FAEX
Video: Sapphire 11196-00-40G Radeon HD 7950 3GB DDR5
Optical: LG 24X DVDRW SATA OEM

I've never used a SSD before, much less used one in conjunction with a HDD. From what I understand, the most important thing I need to remember is to port my Users folder over to the HDD. I am wondering, though, whether or not it will be worth it to install (or detrimental) games and applications on the SSD as well. I play WoW, use Adobe Master Collection CS5.5, and also some 3D Rendering software. Obviously the files that those applications create will reside on the HDD, but is it worth it to have the apps themselves on the SSD?

As far as connecting them goes, I figure that the SSD and HDD can utilize both SATA 6gbs connectors and the optical can hang on one of the SATA 3gbs. There are not special cables for this are there? Normal SATA cables will work?

Those are the only issues I see myself having real questions about. Any thoughts will be appreciated.

For your SSD - you will want all your applications installed on it so they load lightning quick. That's the main benefit of SSD's (very fast access times).