Sign in with
Your question

How to connect 2x SLI cards to PSU and DVI?

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
December 28, 2011 5:12:39 PM

I'm new to the world of SLI.

Hopefully tomorrow I'm going to be building my new rig if the parts arrive. For the gpu's I went with two MSI 560ti HAWK's for SLI. I don't fully understand how I need to connect everything, however; especially to the psu. The psu I ordered is a Corsair Professional series HX850w. It has modular cables and four hard-wired cables: 24pin and 8pin mobo cables, and two 6-8 pin PCI-E cables. The rest are modular. Should I take the two hard-wired PCI-E cables and plug both of them into one card, and then use two modular PCI-E cables for the second card? In the psu manual it's really unclear when it states something like "don't mix a hard-wired cable with a modular cable when using SLI on gpu's that require two power connections..."

Also, once everything is connected and up-and-running, does it matter if I connect my monitor to the top card or the bottom card? (I have a single 24" monitor, 1920x1200).

Thanks for the help!
a c 181 U Graphics card
December 29, 2011 12:32:20 AM

You put the two cards in the slots labeled X 16 and X 8 Your cards should come with a jumber to go from one card to the other on the front side it should be about 3 inches long and flat.

On the back side of the card you plug either the 6 pin conncter or the 8 pin, which ever you cards take. My cards takes the 6 pin and my cable coming from the PSU had a jumber like the old dazy chain. It pluged in the first card and then it jump over to the other card.

If you don't have a cable like that it is ok to use the other one to connect to the second card. Plug your DVI or HDMI cable in the first card does not really matter what DVI one. here is a pic that might help you.