Sign in with
Your question
Solved

First real gaming laptop, graphics questions

Last response: in Systems
February 28, 2012 7:19:15 PM

Okay, I'm completely new at this, and looking to get a gaming computer, and I'm pretty set on the Alienware M14x. I've seen a few questions about this, but I can't find exactly the answers I'm looking for.
The big question: Should I get 1.5 gb or 3 gb of graphics? They're both DDR3, and both use the same GPU as far as I know.

1.5GB DDR3 NVIDIA® GeForce® GT 555M using NVIDIA Optimus™
vs.
3.0GB DDR3 NVIDIA® GeForce® GT 555M using NVIDIA Optimus™

My question is, I want to be able to play games like Skyrim (with mods), Deus Ex: HR, or Civ V at max or near max settings. Will the 1.5 give me any big limitations there?

Also, I'm wondering if I'll see a big impact on performance between these processors.

Intel® Core™ i5 2430M (2.4GHz,3.0GHz,with Turbo Boost, 3MB Cache)
vs.
Intel® Core™ i7 2670QM (2.2GHz,3.1GHz,w/Turbo Boost, 6MB Cache)

Ideally I'd like to use the laptop to a modest extent for Premier or Cubase as well, maybe recording some games.

And finally, RAM... idk much about these things, but will there be any kind of lag (on any program) with 4 gb vs 6gb vs 8gb?

Also, will it be worth it to over-calculate in anticipation of the future?

Thanks!
February 29, 2012 12:49:44 AM

traumaiv said:
4gb is enough for gaming. for gaming the core i5 vs i7 sees no difference. the more gig is for higher resoltions. but the 555m is not the best for graphics in a laptop id recommend this

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

or if you have the money

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

Ok, thanks on the processors, I'm probably going to go with the i5 then to keep the price down. I want to keep it under $1300.

Will there be a huge difference between the GTX 570M and the 555M? The model I was looking at doesn't offer any other graphics options.