Artifacts in 3dMark11, but never in games?

stuffe

Distinguished
Nov 28, 2011
I am new to the world of PCs, well, I've not had one since a Voodoo was good, so effectively new...

I recently built my first PC in 15 years or so: i5 2500k (4.5Ghz), MSI Z68 GD55, 8Gb Vengaence (1600Mhz), 2 x GTX460 1Gb.

I am currently trying to understand graphics card benchmarking and overclocking, what I should try, and what I should look out for etc.

My SLI cards are pre overclocked, and I have been using the EVGA precision tool to bump them further. I am currently at 830, 1660, and 2005 for Core, Shaders and RAM. This seems to be in line with what can be expected in reviews. Everything seems stable, but I am getting odd things happen on screen on teh 3DMark 11 tool. Here is what I have run:

* I have run Furmark, and it happily thrashes along, temps for each card go to approx 70%, no issues seemingly.

* I have run the OC tool from EVGA, and this works fine although I do get the odd artifact here and there listed, but I don't actually know what this means. I can get more if I turn on the CPU test module at the same time. but again, I don't know what this means. Oddly, although the top card gets s little hotter (which I understand), it also runs faster, generating 95%+ load at all times, whereas the bottom card often sits at 70%?

* I can happily play Crysis 2 with the DX11 patch and High Res Texture Pack on Ultra everything (Note, my monitor currently caps out at 1400x900), I'm not sure how to get it to show me a frame rate, but it feels very very fast and smooth, no issues at all.

* The Unigene Heaven benchmark runs really smoothly, just the occasional stutter but nothing other than that.

* But, when I try 3DMark 11, I get wierd green splodges that occassionally flash over the screen at random.