Need better fps for Skyrim... ideas?

Status
Not open for further replies.

theude4bides

Distinguished
Dec 23, 2011
Hey all-

Noob disclamer: I am a noob.

That said, here is the deal. In order to play skyrim, I recently upgraded from a five year old dual core 3.0ghz 2gig ram, ati x1650 to the following (yeah... I know!):

AMD Phenom II X6 1100T 3.3 GHz
GIGABYTE GA-880GM-USB3 REV3.1 AMD 8 Series AM3+ Motherboard
8GB DDR3
AMD Radeon HD 6850 1 GB
600W ps

And now... I am getting greedy... I want better fps for Skyrim. It plays fine on 1080p 50" plasma on High Settings, for the most part, but things slow down a bit when my bounty is high (>50K ha ha!) and I have an entire town chasing me! So the goal is really two-fold: 1.) smoother game play in situations where there is a lot going on graphically and 2.) be able to play the game on Ultra High Settings at 1080p.

So with that goal in mind... do I?
1.) simply use the 4 gig mod? would that help? I'll try either way... just new to modding (converted xbox player... go figure!)
2.) upgrade graphics card to 6950 or something better than the 6850?
3.) Add another 6850 to enable cross-fire?
4.) Other?

Throw your ideas out there, I'd love to hear 'em!

Thanks!

Solution
A quick fix that will most likely help your FPS in cities and the like is this plugin for a "mod" called SKSE (skse.silverlock.org) that reduces the load the CPU gets when in areas with a lot of stuff going on: http://www.skyrimnexus.com/downloads/file.php?id=4387

I tried it myself alongside a lot of other mods and its helped out. While my CPU was probably good enough to handle it before I no longer get any of the slowdowns I had before nor any of the stutters.

But as the others have said, Skyrim is incredibly demanding on the CPU, so upgrading or overclocking that is the only "real" fix to your problem.