Are you supposed to hear your graphics card? and i don't mean the fan.

PhxkinMassacre

Honorable
Feb 16, 2012
so i recently put together this monster desktop that i am typing from right now but have a question about my graphics card. since im new to computer builds i don't exactly know if this is supposed to happen.

i have a evga gtx 570 and its really quiet but then when i start play games i start to hear the card. kinda like a buzz coming from the card. its not the fan because i experimented with the rpms to hear what it sounded like and during games i left the evga monitor program up and watched the fans stay at the same rpm as they were before i started playing (the fan works and speeds when needed, just the card didn't get hot enough during my little test for it to spool up)

so is this normal? i just found it odd. if not, its still within the 30 day return policy for my local micro center so if i need to swap it, it isn't a problem. any incite to this oddity is welcome :)

Solution
It is a called coil buzz(and the pitch will change with different loadings or even frame rate for some users). It is normal for the most part.

Sometimes if you swap the card you get one that does not buzz in a range of your hearing(they most likely all do it, it is just a matter of if you can hear it or not), others you get the same thing or worse.

It is fully your call what you wish to do(swap or keep). It should have no negative impact on performance or even lifespan of the card.

This same issue can effect other components such as motherboards and even power supplies(not just a computer power supply either).

cbag

Distinguished
Dec 11, 2011
I swear back in the day I had a Radeon 9200SE (I think tha'ts what it was) and I could hear it when I played a game. It wasn't the fan it was like a buzzing or electrical sound.

It is a called coil buzz(and the pitch will change with different loadings or even frame rate for some users). It is normal for the most part.