So I got my second 6870 for crossfire and I just wanted to be sure I get everything correct because I've never used a crossfire setup before.I see that on AMD's driver page they have AMD Catalyst Application Profiles.Do i need to install those to fully use crossfire or any need for them at all?

DM186

Splendid

No because your 1st card when the fan climbs your 2nd card will also. As to your first question if you are refering to as the same as the Nvidia controll panel. Yes you need it but I don't know a lot about crossfirex or the AMD/ATI cards. Sorry if I am not a big help. Good luck to you.

Oh okay.So the 2nd card is just a entire duplicate of the first card.So any settings you make for the first card will be duplicated to the 2nd.Alright gotcha.

Yah I'm still having some troube figuring the profiles out.I was playing BF3 before and I was only getting 40% usage from both cards.After installing the profile it boosted them to around 70% so it looks like it works somewhat.I'm still not seeing them both maxed out so that leads me to believe my processor is bottlnecking or I've also heard of 1GB of VRAM being a cause for performance loss in BF3.

hapkido

Distinguished
Oct 14, 2011
You will need/want CAP. Most games will work without them, but some won't work well.

As far as afterburner, I'd hold off on overclocking and even fan profiles until you're more used to your setup. You should be able to specify seperate settings for each card, but in my experience, it's not easy.

So you just download the CAP and that's it? It self-configure's?

I'm not planning on O.C.ing because the BIOS is locked on one of the cards and it's a reference cooler.Just gonna leave them at stock.

Onto my next question then,does anyone have any guess' as to why the cards are only seeing 70% usage in BF3? As a single card it was always 100% maxed but with crossfire they both hover around 70%.