Sign in with
Your question

First build: Is it ok?

Last response: in Systems
March 3, 2012 3:31:52 AM

So this is my first time ever considering even building a computer, I've done some research and just want to see if this will work as a decent build for gaming. Not super intensive (Only WoW on high-Ultra). So no BF3 or Crysis2 etc.

Ram:Corsair 8gb Kit

Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-Z68MA-D2H

PSU: CORSAIR GS600 600W

Case: Coolermaster HAF 912

CPU: I5-2500k (Switching to a I5-2400)

Graphics: XFX Radeon 6870 1gb

HDD: Western Digital Caviar Blue 500GB

For cooling I was going to use 6 of these: COOLER MASTER SickleFlow

Dvd drive I'm not really sure of, if you could recommend me just a cheap one (But reliable) would be great :D .

Oh and sorry if these were supposed to be in a specific order, not sure lol D:

More about : build

a b B Homebuilt system
March 3, 2012 3:46:35 AM

every thing is good.for cooling you don't need to fill every spot.912 is a welll vented case.add a 200mm fan and you are good.asus and lg burners are cheap and good.
all the best ;) 
a b B Homebuilt system
March 3, 2012 3:47:58 AM

Everything seems pretty fine. Any dvd drive is pretty good. Just search for the best rating at Newegg(if you're buying at newegg that is). If you plan to overclock, get a cpu cooler. Something like a cm hyper 212 or higher would be good. If not, drop to an i5-2400, an h67 board and maybe get a 560ti. I would suggest you get a 1TB drive if you can, since 500GB can be filled up quite fast these days
Related resources
a b B Homebuilt system
March 3, 2012 3:53:12 AM

^+1 for cooler.hyper 212 evo is a good choice.HDD pries are very high now.i would say if you are willing to spend $130~150 then spend $150 on a sammy 2tb it's a sweet choice.
a b B Homebuilt system
March 3, 2012 3:57:00 AM

^it's best option.
March 3, 2012 3:57:22 AM

hellfire24 said: