Status
Not open for further replies.

total noob

Distinguished
Jan 21, 2012
hello

my pc takes 2 min and 30 secs to boot up windows 7. Is this a normal boot time?

spec:
z68 mobo
2500K cpu @ 3.3 ghz
8gb ram " 1333 mhz
7200 rpm hdd
650W psu
gtx 560 ti @ 900mhz

Sounds slow to me - mine takes 43 seconds (and I dont think mine is particularly fast). I counting from time I press "on button" to the time I see desktop (including adding my password).

A lot will depend on how much crap you have starting up with windows... I make sure I have very little.

Cheers

DelroyMonjo

Distinguished
That's a VERY long time to boot. Startup programs will certainly slow boot times down but that's still a lot! In your UEFI BIOS there is a setting for the 'hang time' on the BIOS flash screen, set that to 1 or so. At least there's a setting for that in my Asrock z68MB.

Tavo_Nova

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2011
with an SSD mine is actually fast, but if i compare yours to my fx-8150 using western digital caviar black 7200rpm, with windows7 and just antivirus and some games, installed, your load time is actually slow,

you should try checking what programs starts in your pcor maybe your populating a huge amount of space in your hdd.. try ccleaner or something it should help out clean some stuff

total noob

Distinguished
Jan 21, 2012
thanks for responses

i ran pcmark7 (basic free version) and got a score of 3022 pcmarks if thats sheds light on anything.

my mobo is a gigabyte, cant find the hang time in touchbios, what else can i try bios wise?

thanks in advance

Forget that.... go back to basics....

How fast was the machine when you first got it? so with a clean version of Windows... before you installed anything of your own? Was it fast then?
Or did you upgrade to Wins7 from a previous Wins version and not do a clean install?
Or did you upgrade significantly the hardware at some stage and you are not seeing the perfromance boost in boot you expecting?