FRIO ock cooler installed the wrong way in my "Ultra FX Crossfire"?

peaveygtr

Honorable
Mar 3, 2012
I received an ULTRA FX Crossfire build recently from CyberpowerPC and I'm concerned that the cooling system is not set up properly? I'm no expert, but willing to be with some help here. It's crashing in the simplest of games on low graphics settings and restarting. Sometimes after one of those restarts (5-10minutes), it'll crash again and restart.

I'm cooling a 1000watt psu (raidmax RX-1000AE), an amd fx8150 3.6ghz, 16gb ram(1600mhz,ddr3), an ssd, and dual HD 6850s in crossfire mode, along with an extra HDD and a few accessories.

In a Thermaltake Chaser MK1 Full tower case (http://www.thermaltakeusa.com/Product.aspx?S=1393&ID=2048), I have two top fans and they're both intaking air. That doesn't seem right. In addition, my CPU cooler is sucking air from the top and blowing downward across the crossfired graphics cards, and hopefully out the side panel window? Again, that seems wrong especially since the gpus are so close together and are hot items. The front fan intakes, which I think makes sense, as does the bottom fan. However, the rear fan seems to be intaking too. That's unusual to me -- aren't the fans in the top rear supposed to exhaust hot air that is rising?

I'm debating manually reversing some fans, and I've never turned or installed a cpu cooler before so that concerns me. So does anything about my current cooling system make sense to people here? I was hoping someone would say this is intentional or something, before I go messing with anything.

Is it better to flip the push/pull direction on the cpu cooler so it comes up from the bottom and out the top? (can this be easily done?) I could add a side fan in that case. Or do I need to rotate it so that the Thermaltake logo is going left to right (intaking from inside case, out the back)? If that's the case, I think I'll have to reseat the rails.