Stuck between a 3770 and 3770k

Keanu Reeves

Honorable
Jun 11, 2012
I've been trying to determine whether a 3770k is worth it over the vanilla 3770. I use my rig mainly for gaming, but will be getting into video and photo editing once I scratch together enough money for CS 5 or 6. My question is, because I really am not a huge overclocker and only ever did for a bit of fun, is the overclocked performance of the 3770k that much better than the 3770? Keep in mind, I'm coming from a Phenom II x4 980, and I'm guessing it will be a pretty big leap in performance anyways.

Thanks for the help, and I apologize if this question has been asked ad-nauseam.

Keanu Reeves

Honorable
Jun 11, 2012

That's what brought me to the decision of going for the i7. I've tried overclocking for at least 6-8 months now, and for whatever reason I can't find a stable clock over 4ghz. I've gone through tutorial after tutorial, as I am a relative noob at overclocking, and none of them seem to work. I kind of just want to upgrade to a 3770 or k and be done with it. I figured the gap in performance would equal a 980BE overclocked, but I could be completely off-base. I've never owned an Intel chip before.

Most phenom II's only hit around 4ghz. There's no point of getting a 3770/K, because the 980BE is the highest end Phenom X4. If you would upgrade, wait another generation. As for Adobe programs, you should drop your money on a high end nvidia card with CUDA.

Keanu Reeves

Honorable
Jun 11, 2012
http://www.anandtech.com/bench/Product/551?vs=362

This is what really got me confused. Even in gaming, where the processor is not super important, the games benched have a 30-40 frame difference. In video editing, which I'll be starting shortly the difference, at least in these benches, is night and day. I'm not trying to be stubborn or a jerk, just a little confused about how it won't make much of a difference.