[New Build] Need advice. First time build. $2000 budget.

inhuman5000

Distinguished
Dec 11, 2011
Hello. This will be my first build from the ground up. I've had pre build desktops before and I have swapped out hardware (gpu's, ram, psu's, etc), but besides few hardware swaps im a noob.
I have most the hardware picked out. Done some research on these parts. Want to spend around $2000 more besides the stuff i already bought. Willing to go over $2000 if its worth it.
Please give me your advice on the build i have in mind.

- Approximate Purchase Date: Soon on everything but the GPU. I want to wait for is the graphics card. Im waiting on the GTX 680 release.

- Budget Range: $2000

- System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming, Graphics (photoshop CS5), some video editing, office, and net browsing.

- Parts Not Required: CPU, HHD, Keyboard, Mouse, External Speakers, GPU (because im waiting on the gtx 600 series)

- Preferred Website(s) for Parts: newegg, amazon, tiger direct

- Parts Preferences: anything that is reliable and good quiality. With great performance.

- Overclocking: Maybe, but not much

- SLI or Crossfire: Yes. after i buy my gpu i may wait a while till i get another.

- Monitor Resolution: 1080p led

- Additional Comments: want a solid build with quality parts that will last me a few years. Top notch performance. Clean looking. Dont want to go full tower. will use a dual graphics cards in the future if need be.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I already have : i7 2700k, Hitachi 2tb hhd 7200 rpm 64mb cache sata 3, logitech g700 mouse, logitech g110 keyboard, and logitech z523 speakers.

These are the parts I have in mind...

- asus p8z68-v pro/gen3 motherboard
- corsair obsidian 650d case (will also order the mesh side panel for $15 from corsair. Gives the case side cooling.