Sign in with
Your question

Need help choosing NVIDIA or AMD Radeon

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
January 2, 2012 9:53:11 PM

I have never built my own computer before and have wanted to for a while. One problem I have is I dont know any difference between the Radeon cards or the GeForce cards. Without knowing which one it is hard to decide other components as well. I am not going for an extreme computer, just one that I can use for games and have them in 1080p. I do know that I am going with an Intel i5 second gen quad core 3.10GHz cpu. Any help would be appreciated. I know that this has probably been asked a lot, sorry if it is redundant.
January 2, 2012 10:12:00 PM

your other components do not change what graphics card you can use. radeon are better for multiple monitors if you like 3d or physx its nvidia.
m
l
a b U Graphics card
January 2, 2012 10:23:42 PM

demar3214 said:
your other components do not change what graphics card you can use. radeon are better for multiple monitors if you like 3d or physx its nvidia.

Physx is in 5 games LOL and the performance drop is atrocious LOL and 3D is a changeling gimmick.
m
l
Related resources
January 2, 2012 10:27:21 PM

Do you have a budget for your card, also what power supply will you be using ?
m
l
January 2, 2012 10:33:06 PM

i was not saying that physx was in a lot of games i was just pointing out things that the different gpus have.
m
l
a b U Graphics card
January 2, 2012 10:39:35 PM

To the OP just get what ever card has the best price/performance ration for your budget that being said Radeon does have more cards that offer a greater gaming value for each dollar spent.
m
l
a c 181 U Graphics card
January 2, 2012 11:52:00 PM