First time builder, needs help

lonehunter23

Distinguished
Jul 30, 2010
So I finally ordered all my parts and everything came in a few days ago. The only problem is I'm pretty overwhelmed by all of it. This is my first time building a PC and I thought the directions would be pretty user-friendly, but their not.

I didn't start trying to assembly everything until kinda late last night so I didn't have much time to look up videos or google stuff, I figured I'd look here first before there is some great information to be found here with really helpful people.

I got the mobo screwed down and in place fine, the PSU is in place and I have two power cables from the PSU going into the mobo. One question I have is about the PCI-E power cable going into the mobo. The cable plug is 3x3, but then there is a 1x1 connector also so to me it looks like it's really 4x4, but when I tried to plug in into the PCI-E port on the mobo it doesn't want to fit at all. But when I used just the 3x3 and left the 1x1 off to the side it plugged in just fine.

Here is the link of my order: http://secure.newegg.com/WishList/PublicWishDetail.aspx?WishListNumber=26184488

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you

hi
your mobo will take a 24 pin main power connector which is situated on the side of the mobo
the cpu power connector should be on the top of the cpu socket. it can be either a 4pin or a 4+4 (8pin). if the 8 pin does not fit there might be a chance you are trying to fit a 6+2 pin pcie connector to the 8 pin cpu power.

1) Reset CMOS (generally done by moving a jumper or unplugging the battery on the mobo for a little while, but some boards have a push button now). This should be done while unplugged from the wall.