Sign in with
Your question

Long boot times

Last response: in Systems
March 6, 2012 8:23:04 PM

So, I built a new computer a couple weeks ago, and I'm having a few problems with it. It's my first build, so nobody be mean to me :) . Here are specs:

Case: Antec Nine Hundred Two V3
Motherboard: Intel DZ68BC Atx Z68
PSU: Corsair Gaming Series 600-Watt 80 Plus Certified Power Supply
RAM: Corsair Vengeance Blu 8 GB (2X4 GB) PC3-12800 1600mHz DDR3 240-Pin SDRAM Dual Channel Memory
HDD: Western Digital 2 TB SATA II 64 MB Cache 3.5-Inch
SSD: Intel 320 Series 160 GB SATA 2.5-Inch Solid-State Drive
Sound Card: Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer Sound Card
GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX560 Ti 448 Cores FTW Edition
Optical Drive: LG Electronics WH12LS39K M-Disc 12X Blu-Ray Disc Rewriter and HD DVD-ROM Drive
CPU: Intel Core i5-2500 3.3 GHz 6 MB Cache Socket LGA1155 Processor

Okay, so problem number 1:
When I power on, all the fans, LEDs, etc turn on, but the the computer takes anywhere from 5 minutes to 5 hours to finally POST.

Problem number 2:
I plugged in my speakers to the sound card, and there is no audio... and I looked in the hardware menu, and the sound card is not even being recognized by the system, but I know it is getting power because there is a red LED on the back that lights up when the power is on.

Other than that, everything works perfectly. Any suggestions would be wonderful. Thanks!!

-Matt

More about : long boot times

March 7, 2012 4:47:20 AM

Not really sure on the boot thing. Based on your specs, it should boot pretty fast.

On the sound, have you loaded the sound drivers?

m
l
March 7, 2012 4:54:18 AM

mansline6788 said:
So, I built a new computer a couple weeks ago, and I'm having a few problems with it. It's my first build, so nobody be mean to me :) . Here are specs:

Case: Antec Nine Hundred Two V3
Motherboard: Intel DZ68BC Atx Z68
PSU: Corsair Gaming Series 600-Watt 80 Plus Certified Power Supply