Sign in with
Your question

Budget Gaming Build

Last response: in Systems
March 6, 2012 9:21:51 PM

Hello,

I'm hoping to build a computer, this is my first build so any advice appreciated.

I'm aiming to use my old NZXT case (everything will fit) and Sony DVD drive.
In addition i was wondering if i would be able to use the HDD from my Toshiba Laptop that recently died.
The HDD runs fine when i hook it up to my current pc. I was hoping to wipe it and reuse it, is this possible/ a good idea?

Old Laptop Make Model: Toshiba Satellite A505-S6965

HDD Info: 500.0 GB - Serial ATA-150 - 5400.0 rpm

Read more: http://reviews.cnet.com/laptops/toshiba-satellite-a505-...

the rest of the build is laid out here
http://www.scan.co.uk/savedbasket/5b59cc3057ef40c6bfad2...

do i need the heatsink? or can i just use the stock one? i don't intend to overclock.

Ideally I am looking for a bit of upgradeability and acceptable gaming (BF3 and other modern releases)

any advice on where to get a cheap OS?

I'm on a tight budget so trying to keep it as low as possible, preferably under £400 (i get VAT back where i live)

all advice is appreciated.

More about : budget gaming build

a b B Homebuilt system
March 7, 2012 11:55:55 AM

I agree sosofm in using the the stock cooler since the i3 can't be over clocked. I favor the Corsair and I have never had one go bad the OCZ one is in not currently in stock and this time.

you are pretty much stuck paying for Win 7 64bit home premium. unless you are a student some where and they have it at a discount or free.
http://www.scan.co.uk/products/microsoft-windows-7-home... £60.07 w/o VAT

your HDD is going to be slow, but of course you already know that

removing the fan and adding the WIN 7 OS puts you at £389.70 w/o VAT

Options to consider:

if you are gaming at 1920x1080 you might want to consider upgrading to a 6870:
http://www.scan.co.uk/products/1gb-xfx-hd-6870-double-d...

looks good other than thar.
Related resources
a b B Homebuilt system