Cheaper alternative for PSU and Mobo?

J-Man86

Honorable
Mar 7, 2012
Hi folks im a first time builder on a pretty tight budget. Having to cut corners somewhere so would value your input.

Currently running a Core 2 Quad Q8300 (bought in 2007 as a prebuild) but planning to sell this on as I will have no use for it.

This is intended as a gamer (although not hardcore as the budget cant really stretch to the i5 2500 and beyond)

Would appreciate your help in seeing if theres any cheaper alternative that are still as good. Planning on running an i3 2100

PSU - Corsair 600w CX Series V2 (£50) For a future graphics card to save rebuying. The GTX 560 im thinking of requires at least 500w

MoBo - Asus P8Z68-V LX

RAM - Corsair Vengeance 8GB (2x4gb) (Already bought for £37)

Ive decided to do away with the Arctic cool freezer 7 in order to save a few quid and ill use the stock cooler instead.

So if you could lend a guy a hand and know of a cheaper alternative please let me know!

Thanks guys

diddle283

Distinguished
Nov 11, 2011
You won't get better than the Asus board for that price and fifty quid for the 600w corsair is real good, you might save a fiver or so dropping to a 500 or 550w but for the difference you may as well keep where you are

J-Man86

Honorable
Mar 7, 2012
Diddle, thanks a lot for your help. Will stick with what ive planned on then. The corsair 550w was like £80-85! I was originally going for a 430W corsair but after seeing the GTX 560 graphics card minimum wattage i thought hmm, it may be worth planning in advance.

If you can get an XFX 550w or 650w instead of the Corsair 600w, I would do it.

Also, you may want to consider getting an H61 board instead of a Z68. They should be significantly cheaper and you may not notice the difference.

J-Man86

Honorable
Mar 7, 2012
Thanks Raiddinn, I will have a look at those PSU's, is there any reason why i should go for the XFX? Would a 550w be sufficient for some of the highest graphics cards?