Budget Range: $600-$800

System Usage from Most to Least Important: as a home server, so just storage
Parts Not Required: keyboard, mouse, monitor, speakers

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: newegg.com

Parts Preferences: N/A

Overclocking: No

SLI or Crossfire: No

Monitor Resolution: N/A

Additional Comments: I want to build a pc that will be used as a server, so I want something that can be left on all day and wont waste too much electricity. Also it will just be a home server so it doesn't have to be huge.
Thanks in advance! :) 

More about : building server

March 7, 2012 6:35:23 PM

what kind of storage are you looking for (i.e. 1tb or 8tb raid 1 or other or not etc)
Score
March 7, 2012 7:15:32 PM

Probably 2-3 tb.
And sorry but I'm not exactly sure how raid works? I'm pretty new to this but I would love to learn. Thanks for responding
Score
Related resources
March 8, 2012 1:59:33 AM

I just finished building my first server. I wanted a central place to store all of my music/photos/files. Over the course of about 3 months I slowly bought all the parts to save as much as possible, but it looks like you have a decent budget. I did mine for $180 +/- this is the hardware I chose

AMD Sempron 140 ($29.99) (45w low power single core)
ECS AM3 880GM-M7 ($30.99)
Corsair CX430 ($16.99)
Seagate 160GB HDD ($38.99)
4GB DDR3 Patriot ($22.99)
Asus DVD ($12.99)
APEX TX-381-C Black Steel Micro ATX Tower Computer Case ($24.99)