Win 8 won't let me install programs

Status
Not open for further replies.

johnjayr

Honorable
Jan 21, 2013
Hello,
When I try to install programs I've downloaded, I get the security pop-up "do you want to let this program make changes" and i click yes. Then, nothing! I have tried this on many different programs, most recently AmazonMP3DownloaderInstall.exe but also java installer jxpiinstall.exe.
I use Norton 360, so i disabled the firewall and virus protection to see if that was the problem, but nothing happened.
This is an HP p6823w with 64bit win8, 12GB Ram and an ATI Radeon HD4200 graphics adapter.

Solution

to which a flammer might respond: "If you were educated, you wouldn't use incorrect grammar."
see how that works?
Anyone can slam. It takes a bit of class to uplift and provide useful information. Just because this is the internet doesn't mean you can't be civil.

johnjayr

Honorable
Jan 21, 2013

i am a professional, thank you. I am working on getting the bugs out of win8.

gomerpile

Distinguished
Feb 21, 2005

Understandable. Most professionals would tell you to either uninstall Norton or disable all features, and services. Norton is a trouble maker to beginning with.

johnjayr

Honorable
Jan 21, 2013

to which a flammer might respond: "If you were educated, you wouldn't use incorrect grammar."
see how that works?
Anyone can slam. It takes a bit of class to uplift and provide useful information. Just because this is the internet doesn't mean you can't be civil.

Solution

Hi :)

Our opinions differ , which is fine....

Norton is the ONLY AV my shops install on all machines AFTER removing Viruses....

Its also the ONLY AV we sell in my shops... I wont sell anything that does NOT work...

All the best Brett :)

Totally uninstalling Norton would be my first port of call as well.
It may not be the issue but would certainly rule it out as the No1 suspect for your issues.