First build for Sims 3, help?

neekolehtee

Honorable
Mar 8, 2012
Hi everyone, I'm planning on building my first computer and would like to keep it in the $400-$500 range. The most I would use it for is playing Sims 3 and surfing the Internet. I was wondering if this combo would work well enough to play the game at high settings if I add a video card, and if so, could someone recommend one? (I don't need it to be a top of the line one, but I also don't really want to play with the integrated video card.)

http://www.newegg.com/Product/ComboBundleDetails.aspx?ItemList=Combo.753182

Also, are all these parts compatible? I'm totally new to this so I just want to make sure everything will work perfectly! I would assume Newegg wouldn't put something together that wouldn't work, but just wanted to be sure! Thanks in advance for your help!

EDIT: Here's a quick look at the requirements for reference
2.4 GHz P4 processor or equivalent
1.5 GB RAM
128 MB Video Card with support for Pixel Shader 2.0
Microsoft Windows Vista Service Pack 1
At least 6.1 GB of hard drive space with at least 1 GB of additional space for custom content and saved games
For computers using built-in graphics chipsets under Windows, the game requires at least:
Intel Integrated Chipset, GMA 3-Series or above
2.6 GHz Pentium D CPU, or 1.8 GHz Core 2 Duo, or equivalent
0.5 GB additional RAM

Solution
My sister plays this on an old P4 machine with 256MB RAM and integrated graphics so that machine would be fine as it is, you probably wouldn't even need the graphics card. I wouldn't recommend adding a graphics card to that machine anyway since it has a very cheap power supply.

Alternatively you could go for something like this:

AMD A6-3500
4GB Mushkin Enhanced Essentials
ASRock A55M-HVS FM1
Seagate Barracuda 500GB
Fractal Design Core 1000
SeaSonic SS-300ES 300W
LG DVD Burner

Total - $339.93