First build - i7 quad core. Could use some advice!

Status
Not open for further replies.

rakkon

Honorable
Mar 9, 2012
Hello!

I am new to the whole custom built thing so I could use some advice. I'm trying to buy pretty much the best PC I can buy without going bankrupt on CyberpowerPC.com. My budget is around $1300-1500. It's basically whatever the cost is to get what I need. I do video editing, gaming, and rendering so I wanted high-end everything. The only problem with high-end everything is powering it and that's really where my trouble is. So if you have advice on a PSU or changing anything else, let me know! Any help is much appreciated!

CASE: Apevia X-Trooper LED Light Mid-Tower Case w/ Side Window
MOTHERBOARD: Gigabyte X79-UD3 Intel X79 Chipset
CPU: Intel® Core™ i7-3820 Quad-Core 3.60 GHz 10MB Intel Smart Cache LGA2011 (10% OVERCLOCK)
RAM: 16GB (4GBx4) DDR3/1600MHz Quad Channel Memory (Corsair Vengeance)
VIDEO: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 550 Ti 1GB 16X PCIe
COOLING: Corsair Hydro Series H60 High Performance Liquid Cooling System 120MM Radiator & Fan
HDD: 1TB SATA-III 6.0Gb/s 32MB Cache 7200RPM HDD
PSU: ????

All my options are here
http://gyazo.com/2f1121c20f9f738babcbdf4c8cb44836

I was thinking about the Standard 1000W power supply until I saw the efficiency on generic power supplies... what do you guys recommend? I want a little more than I need just in case... and once again if you have any recommendations and/or questions on the rest of the build feel free to include them. Thanks!

Solution
D
A GTX550 Ti is in no way a high end gaming card. It is very underpowered compared to the rest of your system.

The H60 does not perform as well as a cheaper air cooler.

You need at most a 450w power supply for a GTX550 Ti. Even running 2 x GTX 550s in Sli you would need 650 watts at most and that factors in overclocking.

Build your own and get much higher quality parts for the same money or less.