Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Computer problem

Last response: in Systems
March 9, 2012 12:41:14 PM

I built my computer a year ago and it has worked fine until recently. A few weeks ago I started to notice some glitches like random web pages taking an unusually long time to load, then the computer started locking up and blue screens. I use Avast virus protection and it showed no virus. I though it might be RAM so i ran memtest and the RAM was fine. I brought it to a computer repair shop and they told me they ran numerous tests and could not find a virus.

The problem still persists. I play WOW on a free server (Molten) and thought that might be the problem, even though i have been playing on that server for the last 6 months with no problems.

so if its not RAM
and its not a virus
and the computer tech saying the computer looks fine...

what else can it be?

More about : computer problem

a b B Homebuilt system
March 9, 2012 12:49:21 PM

It could be basically anything else in your computer, and there's not enough information to narrow it down beyond that.

Short list of components that could be doing it, in descending probability:

Power Supply: Peak output drops over their lifespan, if you built your system with very little extra wattage on the PSU, this will cause severe instability after several months to a few years, depending on the quality of the PSU. Cheap PSUs can die in weeks.

Hard Drive: These can fail for absolutely no reason, they're very finicky things. Usually you'd get other symptoms, like files getting corrupted and being unable to boot into Windows, or the drive totally bricking.

Motherboard: Everything connects to the motherboard, so a failure here can do all sorts of weird stuff.

Video Card: Failure here produces lots of bluescreens and freezes.
m
l
March 9, 2012 12:53:08 PM

heat.... check your CPU and GPU temps with some software like Speedfan