Shaking off the dust - building a sub-$2k gaming machine

sixtoes

Honorable
Mar 9, 2012
(Feel free to skip the fluff and get to the actual build stuff below - though I did try to make it moderately entertaining.)

Back in the dark ages, I was a PC-building machine - designing and building my own rigs from back in the early Pentium days. Actually, the first system I built was a 486 DX2/66 back in 1994 (which, depressingly, means I'll likely be receiving advice from people who weren't even [strike]born[/strike] in school when I did my first build). I can remember building rigs with 3dfx cards (including the first SLI with Voodoo2s nearly 14 years ago) and the very first GeForce card (the 256). All that to say that I have - or rather, had, a history. In fact, I used to be the guy all my friends asked for advice. Until...

In 2005, I did something for which I'll probably be shunned by the TH community... I bought a Mac Pro. :pfff: It was for my business (I'm a professional photographer), and it quickly became my primary computer for every task - except gaming, of course. My PC at the time still sufficed for playing older games, but it became quickly outdated. So in 2008, I rebuilt the system: a Core 2 Duo E8400 with 4GB (though my 32-bit XP system could only see 3.25) and a GTX 260. Though it's been a reasonable gaming machine over the years, it has clearly gotten very long in the tooth and it's time to do a new build.

But here's where things get tricky. Since I haven't done a build in four years, my skills and knowledge have all faded to practically nil. After all, I use a Mac most of the time (an 8-core Nehalem w/16gb, an SSD boot and a 3 TB Striped RAID), so I never have to tweak, mod, adjust or fix anything... it just works. All the time. So you can imagine the combination of excitement and trepidation as I embark on building a gaming PC to last me for the next four to five years. :sweat: