Sign in with
Your question

New Buyer, New Build. Need Help Please

Last response: in Systems
March 9, 2012 8:19:04 PM

Ok I know there is a million other questions asking this. I really need help building my PC which will be used for gaming.
Im new to it and have a slight idea of what I am doing. It's quite a daunting task building a PC for the first time. I just need
to make sure that all the parts I have chosen will work together.

I have a budget of around £900, however I would like to try and lower this, if possible to £800.. I still would like to max most games out

Case Cooler Master CM-690 II Lite Dominator Case - Black

Motherboard: Asrock Z68 Extreme4 Gen3 Intel Z68 (Socket 1155) DDR3 Motherboard [Z68 EXTREME4 GEN3

CPU: Intel Core i5-2500K 3.30GHz (Sandybridge) Socket LGA1155

GPU: HIS HD 6950 IceQ X Turbo 2048MB GDDR5 PCI-Express

RAM: .Skill RipJaw 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 PC3-10666C9 1333MHz Dual Channel Kit

PSU: Akasa Venom 750w Modular '80 Plus' Power Supply

Also there is a 1TB harddrive and a 60GB SSD and a cheap optical drive

I have a couple of questions.
Will everything work altogether with this build? i.e. motherboard,cpu,gpu,ram

I know I will need a different fan for my CPU, could somebody recommend me a good cheap one?

The PSU that I chose, 750w is enough to run this yes?

Do I really need an expensive motherboard? is there anyway of getting a cheaper one without diminishing performance?

There are something that confuse me still like, differences in motherboard chipsets i.e. X79, Z68, P67. What do these different chip sets mean?

How do I purchase the RAM should I buy 2 x4GB or 4 x4GB ??? What is the difference

Generally do you think this is a good build what changes or suggestions do you have?