Build a computer for someone else

tph15

Distinguished
Jun 2, 2011
Hello,
I would like to start building custom computers for other people to make a couple of extra bucks. The problem is, I have no idea where or how to start. If anyone here has ever done anything like this could you please tell me how to get my start? Any advice would be helpful.

venom4u

Distinguished
Mar 28, 2011

Although I do not claim to be the master by any stretch of the imagination I have built/upgraded a lot of systems over the years; mainly for friends and family. I am assuming your question is in regard to the actual knowledge of computers and not of the business of building custom computer (of which I have very little experience).

First off I would recommend doing some basic research on the components that typically go into a system: Motherboard, CPU, RAM, Graphics, Hard Driver, etc. As kajabla said, looking at reviews and specs on a website for components is a good way to learn (as it is how I did as well). Good sites to visit in my opinion are: newegg.com and tigerdirect.com for looking at components as these are likely where you will order from (i do all my shopping on the egg). Also I would look at some of the NCIX tech tips; some are more advanced however there are many that would be good to look at like: #3,#4a,#4b,#6,#11,#81. I'd look through some of the forum posts under system as well however you sometimes have to take opinions with a grain of salt due to brand loyalty.