How to best partition Windows 8

karfera

Honorable
Jan 21, 2013
Hi,

I'm a newbie in Windows 8, linux, Partition....

I would like to use my new laptop with windows 8 pre-installed to the following:

- Create a Dual Boot Windows 8 / Ubuntu
- Create on my C drive (unique drive on my laptop):
*a partition for the system
*one for Windows 8
*one for Data and
*last one for Ubuntu OS

My aim is :

-to install VmWare on Windows 8 and run Checkpoint Splat with virtual machines to perform CCSA labs.

- to install GNS3 on Ubuntu for CCNP labs but with GNS3 accessing files in the Data partition

I have a Toshiba Satellite with 750Gb and 8 Go RAM.

According to you what's the best size for my partitions?
Is there a better way to partition my C drive regarding my aim?

Best Regards

***I don't know if it's the right section, sorry for that. Feel free to move this thread in the appropriate section***

To start I would defrag the drive and following partition it; preferently in 4 equal size partitions of rounded out numbers but since it's a 750GB, I would create them in 200, 200, 200, 150GB and use a partition application like Minitool Partition Wizard, which is very safe in protecting data.. I've used it many times and never missed a file.

karfera

Honorable
Jan 21, 2013

First of all, thank you for your reply.

But i have one question in my mind: Isn't it too much (200Gb) for Recovery,Windows and Unbuntu?

Regards

That was just a suggestion... I didn't think of the recovery partition, but you can create the number of partitions you need; You can create only 4 Primary partitions or 3 Primary partitions and 1 Extended partition which can be divided into multiple partitions if you need to.

The recovery partition is usually hidden and I believe it's at the start of the Hard Drive in Windows 7 and possibly Windows 8... not sure of that so depends on where it's located that you may not have to affect it.