First Time Server Build - Please Rate

Stevoo123

Honorable
Mar 12, 2012
Hello all,

I recently built a new file server for a small business. This is a small hospitality management company that has about 10 employees total and basically use the server to share excel documents and other misc files. I have never built a server before and would like some feedback on the build and any tips on programs or anything else that would help improve performance.

I advised them to get a new server, because i felt that their old server was becoming very dated. Their old system was running Windows Server 2003 with a Pentium 4 running at 3ghz, 3gb of ram, 2 x 200 gb hard drives (not running in raid). After i decommissioned this server, i scrubbed it, loaded Windows 7 on it and set it up as another office machine.

The stats of the new system that i have just built with a $500 budget:
-AMD X4 840 with a slight overclock pushing it to 3.5ghz. I set this server up with a quality cpu cooler, case fans, and power supply because they want the server to be running 24/7.
- 8GB of ram
- Intel 10/100/1000 PCI-e NIC
Hard Drive set up (here is where i really didn't know what i was doing)
-1x 250 gb seagate 7200rpm hard drive. 50 gb have been partitioned for the system, the other is a drive containing the companies quick books files which the accountant always has open.
-1x 2 TB Western Digital 5500rpm hard drive. This drive contains all of their business and misc files.

OS: Windows Server 2008 Enterprise R2 - I originally had WHS 2011 installed, but scrapped it due to its disappointing performance and features.

I have a 250 Gb external drive backing up the server everyday

I was weighing options to use drive extender, but im not sure how to use it and if it would even be a good idea. I might look into that, any suggestion on this, please let me know.