[Solved] Can't boot my back up drive...

2wheelfan

Honorable
Mar 7, 2012
Hello,
I posted in the ASRock motherboard forum, but hopefully this will appeal to a wider audience and I can get some help from the experts here.
I'm not a newbie but I have learned there are different levels of knowledge and hopefully a guru will weigh in.

Background:
I just completed my new build with ASRock 970 Extreme4 motherboard and it booted up nicely right from the build and loaded Windows 7 64 bit. I have opened up the AMD Phenom II to 6 cores which is a nice feature of the board and the CPU. Computer works flawlessly however I can't figure out how to boot to my back up drive.

I have two identical Seagate 250G SATA drives. Both are recognized in Disk Management as healthy and on line with respective letters C and F.

I have UEFI BIOS 1.50 and when I go into Advance Storage it shows both identical hard drives which they are except for serial no. reflected in a submenu of the BIOS.

Here is the rub. When I go into the Boot category of the UEFI BIOS, both Boot Option no. 1 and Boot Option no. 2 only reflect one Seagate model no. Again both drives are identical which makes sense. However toggling repeatedly between Option 1 and Option 2...mostly out of whim...I can not get the second drive to boot. It doesn't try to boot it....always goes straight to the HD connected to the SATA 1 port aka C drive.

When I go through Computer F drive...all the files are there...pictures, music etc...as I successfully cloned the second drive from the primary drive. To tell them apart, I changed the desktop in the C drive and a few files.

Further....I went in and detached my primary SATA drive and hooked up the back up drive to the SATA 1 port and it booted right up...there is nothing wrong with the back up drive....I just can't figure out how to boot it from the BIOS.

I know this is silly but I have tried probably 50 times with every different permutation I can think of in the BIOS.