First build ever. help me not screw it up.

sethclary

Honorable
Jun 26, 2012
Hi there,

I've been reading forums and reviews for day, and getting more confused each day. This is my first build and want to build something that will be good for the future. So far this is what I have component wise. I still need a video card and a hard drive. Is Linux a good option for this build?
I'm already over budget, so if I'm wasting money on something please let me know.

I am replacing a broken down HP pavilion a1710n. It has a 320gb hard drive, 9 in one card reader, light scribe cd/dvd burner, PNY XLR8 GeForce 9800 GT GDDR3 1gb PCIe 2.0, but I don't know if should reuse some of the old parts.

Components so far:

RAIDMAX SMILODON ATX-612WBP Black 1.0mm SECC Steel ATX Mid Tower Foldout MB Computer Case With 500W Power Supply $89.99

Intel Core i5-3570K Ivy Bridge 3.4GHz (3.8GHz Turbo) LGA 1155 77W Quad-Core Desktop Processor Intel HD Graphics 4000 BX80637I53570K $230

ASRock Z77 Extreme4 LGA 1155 Intel Z77 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard $134

G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1866 (PC3 14900) Desktop Memory Model F3-14900CL9D-8GBXL $59.99

ADATA S510 Series AS510S3-120GM-O 2.5" 120GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) - OEM $95

Solution
Hello there Seth, me again.
I'll try to not overwhelm you, so here goes. You mentioned already being over budget and not wanting to waste money on anything. I don't think that you'll be wasting any money by getting the parts you've suggested, as long as you pick out a good PSU. Dudewitbow gave you a good resource on PSUs. Definitely do your research. You don't want to regret the psu you end up with. But I'm not exactly sure what you want this build to do. Linux isn't great for gaming, so Windows 7 will cost you more, but you can put that off for a while if needed.