Sign in with
Your question

System Overhaul

Last response: in Systems
March 13, 2012 2:16:02 PM

Hi guys i'm looking to get myself a new system for around £500-£700, I'm a game design student at uni and this is my final year so im looking to get a PC that will work well with 3D applications and gaming, also would like a little future proofing hence the PCIe3 board and I hear a new CPU will be available for 1155 socket mobo's too so heres what im looking to get -

CPU - Intel Core i7-2700K 3.5GHz LGA1155 8MB (picked this over 2600k as and when the new CPU's are due it will have a higher resale value)

MoBo - Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3 (my current board is an asus P5E and its served me well for nearly 5 years, so asus would be preffered)

RAM - Corsair 16GB (4x4GB) Vengeance Blue DDR3 1600MHz DIMM 240-pin CL9 Low Profile (Low profile as the size issue with CPU coolers and Ram heat-sinks scare the living kak out of me, i also picked 16gb as apps like ZBrush eat this up like its candy)

SSD - OCZ 128GB Petrol Series SATA 6Gb/s 2.5" (use it for boot and favorite game/apps i.e. battlefield and 3DsMax)

CPU Cooler - Zalman Extreme PWM CPU Tower Cooler 120mm (the cooler is open to debate, im looking for good cooling for perhaps an OC to 4ghz, but i also have to live with this PC every day so quieter is better and i dont really want to spend anything over £50)

I already have -

Case - NZXT phantom full tower

GPU - Nvidia 580msi 3GB lightning extreme edition

HDD - 1x2TB sata 2, 1x500GB sata 2

OS - Win7 professional 32/64bit

PSU - Corsair 1200W pro series

and a CD Drive.

Can anyone foresee any problems with this build? as I cant afford for anything catastrophic to happen as i'm upgrading in the middle of term time.

Thanks.

More about : system overhaul

a b à CPUs
March 13, 2012 3:09:49 PM