Maximum ram utilized by CPU?

knottshawk

Distinguished
Jan 25, 2007
So I'm a total novice here, but am I correct in assuming that there are limitations to how much ram a CPU can actually handle? Let's use the AMD 4200 as our example... can it even fully utilize 4GB of RAM?

Thanks in advance!

hexploit

Distinguished
Jan 17, 2007
Actually it's not the cpu that has ram limitations but the OS&motherboard. Windows xp is generally limited to <4gb and often can only utilize 2gb. A cpu doesn't doesn't know the difference between ram and a hard drive. All it knows is that it's processing data from one location or another and that one location(ram) happens to be much faster.

knottshawk

Distinguished
Jan 25, 2007
Right, but what I'm saying is that if you have 100GB of RAM, the processor wouldn't be fast enough to ever need that amount of RAM... or am I wrong?

fredgiblet

Distinguished
Jul 8, 2006
If you are running a 32-bit OS (and you almost certainly are) then you top out at 4GB, if you are using a 64-bit OS (XP 64, Server 2003 64, 64-bit Linux, or Vista 64) then you can address more RAM than you can possibly fit in your motherboard right now.

Additionally, I don't know how it works for other OS's but on XP any non-system RAM memory still counts against the 4GB (i.e. that 512MB GPU cuts your max to 3.5GB etc), and Windows can't assign more than 2GB to any single program unless you tell it to.

fredgiblet

Distinguished
Jul 8, 2006
Right, but what I'm saying is that if you have 100GB of RAM, the processor wouldn't be fast enough to ever need that amount of RAM... or am I wrong?

You are wrong. The speed of the processor has no real bearing on RAM needs, all that matters for RAM needs is the size of programs. Right now there are almost no programs outside of supercomputers that could use anywhere near 100GB, but is you had a 100GB program then it would still benefit from haveing the entire program in RAM even if the processor was fairly slow.