Using headphones for soundcard and speakers for onboard sound

k4ever

Distinguished
Jan 26, 2012
I just bought an asus dgx soundcard and this is my first time installing one of these cards as well. I thought I could just use my headphones with the soundcard jack, and leave my speakers connected with the default 3.5mm input using the realtek onboard sound. Now Im checking the manual and it says that in order for me to install the card, I should first disable the onboard sound. Im mostly doing this because I dont want to plug my headphones on the back of my desktop, and then unplug them when trying to use my speakers and repeat this over and over again. I read somewhere that I could buy a 3.5mm splitter that can als serve as an extension. Will using this splitter affect the quality of the sound coming to the headphones? My speakers are cheap but powered. Maybe just turning them off will make them not affect the sound quality from the headphones?
Im hoping theres an easy way to setup this.

Solution
Yes disable the onboard sound and move the front panel audio header to the one on the DGX. This only applies if you are not using an OEM system (Dell, HP, Gateway, IBM...) where the front panel audio header may be proprietary and not work with the DGX.

popatim

Titan
Yes disable the onboard sound and move the front panel audio header to the one on the DGX. This only applies if you are not using an OEM system (Dell, HP, Gateway, IBM...) where the front panel audio header may be proprietary and not work with the DGX.

Solution

k4ever

Distinguished
Jan 26, 2012