Sign in with
Your question

SFF pc-assistance with mobo/chassis/cooling and saving money.

Last response: in Systems
March 15, 2012 8:27:10 AM

I am somewhat new to building PC's, I have built only two so far. I was thinking of purchasing a gaming laptop but did not want to spend an enormous bundle of cash on one.

I wanted small size and performance to play modern games, I don't expect this PC to max out every game today but I am hoping to run games like Skyrim on decent settings. I spent today looking for a case, I believe I found one that I am ok with but I am indecisive on many things. I am having issues with creating a form factor pc.

EDIT: Definitely not going to be a cheap build.

The case I chose so far

Lian Li PC-Q08-109$
http://www.lian-li.com/v2/en/product/product06.php?pr_i...

Motherboard
ZOTAC Z68-ITX WiFi - 164.99$
http://www.zotac.com/index.php?page=shop.product_detail...

CPU
Intel Core i5-2500 3.3 GHz 6 MB Cache Socket-194.99$
http://www.amazon.com/Intel-i5-2500-Socket-LGA1155-Proc...

The video card that I intended to base everything around is
MSI N560GTX-Ti Twin Frozr II GeForce GTX 560 Ti-246.10
http://www.amazon.com/MSI-N560GTX-Ti-II-GeForce-256-bit...

I built a computer for gaming last year and I feel guilty for retiring it so soon, The form factor pc I intend to create currently has a socket 1155 Mobo lined up but I was wondering if it was worth attempting to locate a socket 1366 MicroATX motherboard so I can reuse my i7930.

Forgive me for being difficult but I am looking for many things. I am seeking input on cube cases that may be better than what I have lined up in terms of cooling and space, a microATX socket 1155 board that is cheap but of good quality and performance. I also want to know if I should just try and sell my old PC and use the funds for this build or if I should salvage as many old pieces as I can.