First Build - System Keeps Rebooting

Status
Not open for further replies.

bosoxfan82

Honorable
Mar 15, 2012
Hello

This is my very first computer build, so please be gentle, i couldnt find any threads specific to the issue that i am having so here goes.

i built it specifically so i could play games on higher settings, so this is my first experience with computer parts in general.

after putting everthing together and connected correctly, my issue is that the computer will not stop rebooting. during windows installation it would restart almost at the very beginning everytime (barely making it past the windows starting up animation). A friend of mine was able to run windows on it through something called "system prep" (once again i'm a novice), and it would load windows for only a couple of minutes and then restart. since then i've tried installing windows on my own and its same old story, keeps rebooting during installation.

at first i thought it might be an issue with my power supply, but another friend of mine brought over one that was much better than the one i got and still same issue.

the cpu is not overheating, ive checked the temp in bios immediately after a reboot, and i've also felt around the cpu error and there's no heat to be at all concerned about.

at this point i'm thinking that i have some type of compatibility issue with my motherboard and cpu, the cpu is supposed to be compatible with my mobo according to asus, and the bios that comes stock with it is also supposed to be compatible according to amd (bios was also updated when my friend was able to get windows going). Ive seen that there can be a wattage issue between the mobo and cpu which may cause reboot, but i was unable to find anything specific to my hardware.