Looking for advice for new GPU for AMD Athlon 64 x2 4800+

Status
Not open for further replies.

skulkarax

Distinguished
Jan 10, 2012
Hi folks,

I was hoping to get a new GPU so I can play the new SWTOR MMO game. Right now I'm at 5-15fps which sucks wicked hard. Hoping to at least bump that up 2-3 fold with just a new GPU, but not sure which card will be compatible. Really pisses me off that we as consumers, even after doing the lengthy research to find out what new GPU we should get that is compatible, only to still have to go about this empirically after we've already spent a lot of money. But that's a soap-box I shall step on another day.

Here are my specs, in brief:

AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 4800+
2gb DDR2 ram
VisionTek Radeon X1550 Series
Antec "Truepower Trip" Model TP3-430, 430W

I am a novice at figuring out how to know which of the new GPU's will be compatible so any help/advice/general direction is greatly appreciated. I also have a limited budget and would like the next video card to be <$100.

Many thanks!

P.S. thanks inzone for letting me know about the abbrev. specs *blush*

Solution
The HD6750 is the stronger card, but if I'm not mistaken, the Antec Truepower Trios were some of the last Antec PSUs to have capacitor problems, especially when run near capacity where they would heat up. If I AM mistaken, the GDDR5 version of the HD6750 would be a nice card indeed, however even the HD6670 might be bottlenecked some by his CPU so I still think that would be the safest card to get.
You posted way too much info , there is no need for that. All we need is the cpu brand and model , ram brand and model and video card brand and model. You could have listed everything just like you did with the psu. Something like this;

AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 4800+
2gb DDR2 ram
VisionTek Radeon X1550 Series
Antec "Truepower Trip" Model TP3-430, 430W

skulkarax

Distinguished
Jan 10, 2012