Sign in with
Your question
Solved

New System Build - Opinions Welcome!

Last response: in Systems
March 15, 2012 11:18:36 PM

Hello!

I have lurked here for a while, first time poster.

I have always had a keen interest in hardware but I am no expert. I have previously built two home systems before (2003 & 2010), but now with the announcement of Diablo 3 the time has come for another one. This time however its for my partner :p .

The PC will predominately be used to play Diablo 3! She is a graphic designer by profession and depending on performance she may use it for this also, however this is not critical as she has a Mac for this also. As we have just started a mortgage price competitiveness to play D3 is the highest priority. Here’s my build so far:

CPU: Intel i5-2500K = $215

GPU: 1Gb 6870 Gigabyte = $201

MB: Asus P8Z68-M-Pro = $128

RAM: 8Gb Kingston HyperX = $52

HDD: Hitachi 7200rpm 500G = $74

Optical Drive: Samsung DVDRW = $19

Monitor: 23” Samsung = $158

PSU: Antec VP 550P = $69

Case: Antec VSK2000 = $55 (although she may argue for a “prettier” one)

Total = $1070

I am located in Australia so all prices are from http://www.msy.com.au/Parts/PARTS.pdf

Considering the relative cheap price of the CPU+MB compared to my previous builds, the overall price seems very expensive? I can see HDD’s are very expensive (due to floods?) but can’t really pick where I can remove cost. I don’t think we’d immediately overclock but it would be nice to have the 2500K if we would like to do that later on. Any advice or opinions would be really welcome!

Thanks so much 

More about : system build opinions

Best solution

a c 93 B Homebuilt system
March 16, 2012 12:18:25 AM

I would not go with a "prettier" case as the companies who make those cases - Raidmax, Xion, Xclio, Ultra, are just flat out junk .

That build looks pretty good. Switch out the HD with something from Seagate, Western Digital, or Samsung - avoid Hitachi.