Upgraded PC can't get past BIOS. CPU too hot?

nintoman

Honorable
Mar 16, 2012
Hello,

I invested in a brand new ASUS P8H61-M PRO motherboard, i7-2600 3.4ghz processor and 500w PSU.

This is my first time building my own rig and my knowledge of hardware isn't amazing. I've managed to get it up and running but when it comes to booting up the system automatically restarts and claims the CPU is too hot. In the BIOS it is reading around 54-60 and claims to be an acceptable level. When BIOS restarts the level will read 80+ before creeping back down to an acceptable level. I'm not sure what is causing this and after spending almost £400 I'm trying to find the best solution without throwing too much money away.

Thankyou for your time. Any help on this matter is greatly appreciated :)

rvilkman

Distinguished
It does seem like the heatsink is not properly seated. I don't recall if there is a protective film on top of the thermal paste or not with the cooler, but if there was, make sure that is off as well.

Hi, +1 on the thermal paste being wrong on the heatsink, or the heatsink not push all the way onto the MB.

However you cannot reuse heat sink material once it gets hots. You got to remove the old stuff and apply new. Places like newegg carry products like 'artic silver'. visit the artic silver web site and see video on how to apply.

Also, you have your heat sink fan plugged in, and it is blowing air thru the heatsink ? Usually the bios will refuse to start if it can't sense the cpu fan spinning.

Also, make sure you have your voltages set at stock, not overclock. ditto frequencies. An overclock that is too aggressive for your CPU can have these symptoms.

nintoman

Honorable
Mar 16, 2012