Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Looking for advice for PC-TV build

Last response: in Systems
March 16, 2012 10:06:18 PM

Hello! Avid tom's hardware reader here finally taking the plunge into registering on the forums. I've been gaming for 10 years and sort of in the middle of changing my setup.

As for the new build specs I am waiting on the new 680 cards from NVIDIA. Mostly all the parts are going to be around the mid/high-high end range.

The big question here is making sure everything is in working order and seeking advice from anyone who has done something similar to my setup.

My goal is to have a PC rig (high end as stated above) working with my Receiver and TV.
Receiver/Speakers: http://www.futureshop.ca/en-CA/product/-/b9001970.aspx?...
TV: http://www.futureshop.ca/en-CA/product/samsung-samsung-...

I would like to be able to push 5.1 audio from my PC to the receiver for games (BF3, Warcraft, etc). As for what I need cable wise and motherboards that support codecs or outputs that the receiver will need.. I am at a loss. I have the TV and receiver connected currently with HDMI and the sound quality is amazing. I understand the basics that video cards don't push HDMI audio and would need a different cable to run the audio (optical I think?).

Pretty much what I am asking here if anyone could recommend a awesome motherboard/cable/sound cards or anything I would need to achieve the best quality audio from my PC to my receiver with as little clutter as possible. I know the specs I give are vague and the computer specs are pretty much non-existent I would just like to wrap my head around this problem first so I can build around the motherboard to ensure everything is going to work. This goes for the video as well I hope that the 680 comes with some sort of HDMI support that I can simply plug and play with a higher end HDMI cord from the video card to the receiver/tv (whatever it needs to go to).