total newb

Distinguished
Jan 11, 2012
Hello,
im tending towards nvdia because they have better support (and the bad driver rep of amd), but the price of 2 6870 is actually cheaper and they run a lot faster. can someone tell me how noisy 2 6870 are on idle? and how hot do they get?

also how does 2 regular 560 compare against 2 6870?

exeedorbit

Distinguished
Dec 1, 2011
There are three things you need to take into consideration when going SLI/CF

Price of two cards: AMD is cheaper
Performance Scaling: Nvidia tends to have better drivers, faster.
Temperature: It's been shown that most (non reference) AMD 6870s run hotter at IDLE, but cooler under load than 560s.

A fourth might be important to some:

TDP: How much energy the cards use under load. The 6870s are actually more energy efficient compared to 560s.

total newb

Distinguished
Jan 11, 2012
i dont mind it getting hot at idle just as long as it doesnt melt under full load, but the noise at idle is REALLY important because i need to read alot of stuff on my comp and my psu is already like a leaf blower. and i dont mind energy cost as long as 650 watt is sufficient.

I would go with the 570 since the noise level will be lower and the single card will not have the micro stuttering that dual cards have. The 650w will be fine for the 570 and will be close on the two 6870's. While it is true that the two cards will give better performance than the 570 the difference is close enough that it's not that noticable. You would have to have 20fps and up for there to be a real noticable difference in performance. The other thing that is a possability is that later on you could add another 570 and have a real gameing powerhouse.

DM186

Splendid
^+1