Need Advice For First time CPU builder.

Kuroneko

Honorable
Mar 17, 2012
Approximate Purchase Date: Around Next Week

Budget Range: $1000~$1500

System Usage from Most to Least Important: 3Dmax,AutoCad,Maya,Photoshop,Cinema4D,SonyVegas,Gaming,Surfing,Movies.

Parts Not Required: Keyboard,Mouse,Speakers,Monitor

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Newegg.com ( im buying the parts at a electronic mall "lowyat" at malaysia )

Parts Preferences: Nothing.

Overclocking: Yes

SLI or Crossfire: Yes

Monitor Resolution: 1440x900, 1920x1080

Additional Comments: Prefer White case and got some neon light. ( black also okay laa. as long it looks alike alienware ), acctualy i targeting for buying 51x alienware new desktop pc. but i prefer the custom build one :3

Im new in computer build :( so please bear with me if i many thing i dont know.

willard

Distinguished
Nov 12, 2010
Since you're doing lots of rendering, you want as much RAM as you can get. 16GB is good, 32GB is better. Those programs will use as much as you can give them.

You want as many cores on your chip as possible as well, as rendering "parallelizes" extremely well. Bulldozer, for all its many flaws, is actually a pretty good choice here, though I'd still recommend the 2500k because it's 99% as fast, and costs $50 less. That's $50 more you can put into other cool stuff like neon lights or a badass case.

Also, since you're so productivity oriented, the argument could easily be made that you should look into a professional grade video card. These are VERY expensive, so I've skipped that in my build. If what you're rendering is very large and complex, you'll definitely want to look into a Quadro or FirePro for your video card instead of a gaming card. They'll perform WAY better. I also don't know much about which cards perform well in 3DS Max, Maya, etc., so I just grabbed a 580. I'm hoping somebody who knows better than me can put you on the right track.

So, without further ado, here's my recommendation.