Sign in with
Your question

Critiquing This New Gaming PC

Last response: in Systems
March 17, 2012 10:35:40 PM

Approximate Purchase Date: A week or two from now

Budget Range: About what it is now, give or take a little bit.

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming

Parts Not Required: Anything that doesn't fit in the tower. :) 

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Newegg

Parts Preferences: Would prefer Intel for the CPU and a Nvidia for the GPU, but MIGHT be open to switching.

Overclocking: Not unless it's needed

SLI or Crossfire: Probably not, maybe at some point in the future

Monitor Resolution: 1680 x 1050 i think

Additional Comments: Wheee tax returns!

So with that being said - I have a wish list of items that I want to get for the new gaming computer (I've been playing all my games on a laptop since 2007, so it IS time for an upgrade). My goal is to get a computer that won't need any upgrading or anything for several years, so I know I'll be spending more than a normal person would, but I hope to make this computer last.

I think that I have everything compatible with all other pieces I have, and have no bottle necking issues, and have enough space (that Heat Sink is HUGE!!) for everything, but that's one reason for this thread because it's been a while since I've done this and need help to make sure I'm not an idiot.

Link: My Newegg Wishlist

Motherboard: ASUS P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3 LGA 1155 Intel Z68 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard with UEFI BIOS

Power Supply: OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular High Performance Power Supply compatible with Intel Sandybridge Core i3 i5 i7 and AMD Phenom

Case: Antec Three Hundred Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case

Extra fans for said case: APEVIA CF12SL-UBL 120mm Blue LED Case Fan x 3

New Surge Protector: BELKIN BE112230-08 8 Feet 12 Outlets 3940 Joules Surge Protector with Telephone and Coaxial Protection