Sign in with
Your question

First time builder, will this build work?

Last response: in Systems
March 18, 2012 4:57:45 AM

As the title says, I am a first time builder. I am building this computer for my wife who will be using it to do video editing and gaming. She plays games such as WoW and the Star Wars. I am looking to make her a rig where she can play any game at the highest settings or edit videos without any issues for as long as possible before having to make changes to rig.

Approximate Purchase Date: sometime in the next week

Budget Range: around $2000

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming and Video editing is what it will be used for mostly

Parts Not Required: keyboard, mouse, monitor and speakers

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: newegg.com

Parts Preferences: Mid-Tower case, besides that don't really care about who makes what parts as long as they will work well together

Overclocking: Maybe

SLI or Crossfire: Not at this time but possibly in the future

Monitor Resolution: 1920x1080

These are the parts that I have chosen for her rig.

CPU: Intel Core i7-2700K 3.5GHz (3.9GHz Turbo) LGA 1155 Quad-Core Desktop Processor

Heatsink: COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 Plus RR-B10-212P-G1 120mm sleeve CPU Cooler

Motherboard: ASUS P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3 ATX Intel Motherboard with UEFI BIOS

Video Card: XFX Radeon HD 7970 Black Edition FX-797A-TNBC Video Card

Hard Drive: Western Digital Caviar Black 1.5TB 3.5" SATA 6.0Gb/s Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive

SSD: Mushkin Enhanced Chronos MKNSSDCR120GB 2.5" MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

DVD/CD Burner: LG 22X Super-Multi DVD Burner Black SATA Model GH22NS90B - OEM

DVD/CD Drive: ASUS Black SATA DVD-ROM Drive Model DVD-E818A7T/BLK/B/GEN - OEM

RAM: CORSAIR XMS3 16GB (2 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model CMX16GX3M2A1600C11

Power Supply: Rosewill BRONZE Series RBR1000-M 1000W "Compatible with Core i7, i5" Power Supply