Sign in with
Your question

Gateway NX860X, Windows 7 64-bit and GeForce Go 7600 buggery!

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
January 13, 2012 10:13:12 AM

System Specifications: Gateway NX860X, 64-bit Windows 7 Ultimate SP1, 4G RAM
The driver being used is version 7.15.11.7948

The issue: The screen goes black while playing games. It does not display an error message, the black screen does not recover to anything, and I need to manually restart my computer every time. The games in question are Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas, Deus Ex, and Silent Hill 3. I've only had SH3 do this once, whereas San Andreas is starting to crash almost immediately upon loading into a server (I play SA:MP). I'm not a techie or I wouldn't be here but I'm pretty sure this is a GPU failure caused by incompatible drivers or overheating.

I've installed nTune with the NVIDIA MonitorView. MonitorView displays a constant 0dC temperature for the GPU and all voltage fields say 'not reported'. I've slid the nTune slider to the 'performance' side.

My understanding is there are huge compatibility problems with Windows 7 and the Go 7600. I've seen threads where people have provided fixes for this for specific manufacturers (HP, Vaio) concerning updating to a certain driver version and a tweaked config file. I'm hoping for similar help, thank you.

January 13, 2012 10:42:13 AM

I saw someone post about using UK drivers. Unfortunately for me this page won't load. I've tried several GeForce drivers with no luck so far.
m
l
Related resources
January 13, 2012 10:52:42 AM

In auto-detect it says my drivers are current, what should I be looking for?
m
l
a b Î Nvidia
January 13, 2012 11:04:46 AM

Don't do auto detect, download it manually after selecting your video card. Then just press download, and when installing click "Clean Install". Hope it helps.

Also, download HWMonitor after doing the driver thingy, and check the temperatures. If it's not listing, try gaming with PC side taken off.
m
l