People trying to rank up

bwitz

Distinguished
Feb 16, 2010
Hello.

I appreciate all of the enthusiasm I have received in response to some of my questions lately but I can't help but feel some people are replying in order to boost their rating, rather than spread good advice.

Sometimes they are so far away from the original question, I wonder if they even read it.

Anyone else notice this?

Otherwise, I have no other complaints with TH. I have been coming here off and on for advice for a few years, and always recommend it to people that need advice.

Thanks and have a great day!

Bwitz

No way. Every single post here is made with the sincerest of intent. Nobody would ever "pad" their points here at Tom's Hardware, NEVER ! :ange: :ange: :ange:

I offer this thread
HERE as proof. There are 3 pages so read it all, then decide.

Laugh.gif

I rest my case.

BTW, I got 4 points for answering you.. thanks :D

I have to agree with tigsounds. +4

Relax, the purpose of this forum is to spread the knowledge as well as for talks sometimes (although that should be strictly on PM or on the Beyond the Keyboard section).

They may have more points and have high rank. But if they talk nonsense, they will never get best answer and will not get any badge. So check the number of badge as well.

randomizer

Champion
Some people do just try to improve their rank. Others think they know the answer but don't. Others simply don't read properly. In all 3 cases the thread can start to go off on a tangent and people who could otherwise answer the question end up talking about something else. It's common on any forum and it reflects the way conversations change topic over time.

If you feel that your thread is going too far off topic then feel free to PM a moderator. In most cases we'll simply ask that people keep on topic, but if a few pages have gone by we may simply request that you repost the thread.

bwitz

Distinguished
Feb 16, 2010