Sign in with
Your question

Onboard Versus PCI Sound Card

Last response: in Components
July 2, 2012 10:14:30 PM

Hi.
As i have very little experience with audio cards i was hoping for some help.

I heard people say.
"Wow after i bought a PCI audio card I got a lot better music quality, and my sub is on a totally new level.

Asking because I'm buying a new rig now very soon, with the Asus z77 Sabertooth and with it the LOGITECH Z-906 5.1 THX.
So was wondering would i get better quality getting an audio card?
Or will the Asus sabertooth be enough?

Currently running with an old 7.1 Creativ set plugged in to the motherboard and i think it sounds rather ok.

July 2, 2012 10:17:28 PM

aleksanderdev said:
Hi.
As i have very little experience with audio cards i was hoping for some help.

I heard people say.
"Wow after i bought a PCI audio card I got a lot better music quality, and my sub is on a totally new level.

Asking because I'm buying a new rig now very soon, with the Asus z77 Sabertooth and with it the LOGITECH Z-906 5.1 THX.
So was wondering would i get better quality getting an audio card?
Or will the Asus sabertooth be enough?

Currently running with an old 7.1 Creativ set plugged in to the motherboard and i think it sounds rather ok.

To be honest, I doubt there would be a considerable difference unless you compared them side-to-side. I've used onboard sound forever and it sounds fine to me. If I were you, I'd use the money for a better cpu, more ram or better video card instead.
July 2, 2012 10:24:28 PM

Hehe was hoping for such an answer :p 

Any one else that can confirm this aswell?
Related resources
July 2, 2012 10:47:12 PM

Modern motherboards, including yours have pretty good capabilities now, and also a new driver just came out for your audio chipset that's supposed to be better.
July 2, 2012 11:12:29 PM