Sign in with
Your question
Solved

New build, I have a few questions.

Last response: in Systems
March 19, 2012 8:51:02 AM

Hi, my name is Michael and I am an amateur in building PC systems.
Ive read through a couple guides and reviews on-line on various components parts etc.
I have already bought a few parts of my build and I now need some guidance on the next parts I buy.
Im from New Zealand, so I dont know anything about Newegg and I will use NZD currency.
So ive got $1200-1500 NZD left to spend and I want to end up with a decent gaming rig.
For now, I will be using it to play League of Legends and Battlefield 3 and of course watch movies from time to time.
After ive researched online about overclocking, I probably will overclock the system, but not excessively.
Ive opted for 16GB ram, because its on special and I would like to use some of it as a RAMdrive, I heard that people have been getting stupidly outrageous load speeds on LoL, not too sure if it will RAMdrive will help BF3.

What I have so far:
NZXT Lexa Blackline
Samsung LA22D400 22" Series 4 LCD
Intel Core i5 2500K
Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3
Vengeance 4x4GB (CMZ16GX3M4A1600C9)
ASUS Optical Drive DRW24B3ST
Microsoft X6 Keyboard
Microsoft X5 Mouse
Razer Goliathus Fragged Mousepad

For the graphics card I was think about getting a Sapphire Radeon HD 6790 or Gigabyte GeForce GTX 550 Ti now and then when I get more money later on I will buy another one and Crossfire/SLI them.

For the hard drives, I do not know what im doing. I figure I will need about 1TB and I cannot afford to by SSD's.
Ive ended up with four options:
Western Digital Caviar Black WD1002FAEX
Samsung Spinpoint F3
Seagate Barracuda ST1000DM003
Western Digital Caviar Blue WD10EALX

So here are my questions:
1) Is there any compatibility issues with my build?
2) How much watts will my PSU need to have?
3) Recommend me a PSU?
4) Is it effective using the 6790 or GTX 550 in Crossfire/SLI?