Sign in with
Your question

Networking 2 offices! Need some help!

Last response: in Networking
August 4, 2005 9:58:03 PM

I am running a VPN Tunnel connection between 2 offices. Both offices are using Linksys BEFSX41 VPN routers using Verizon DSL Static connections. At Office 1 we have a Server (Windows server 2000 and Domain) and a printer, at office 2 we have about 6 computers (Windows XP) and a printer. The computers at office 2 connect to the Server at office 1 via Remote Desktop.

The current problem is the 2 offices cannot see each other on the network, they can connect via VPN tunnel but if we want to print or file share we cannot see the other office. I have enabled file and print sharing on all the computers at both offices. I have some networking knowledge, I setup this VPN tunnel myself and it works great. But when I started reading about all this Domain and DNS info that might fix my problem I was completely lost.

Basically right now the priority is to print from one office to another. Here are my Linksys Router settings:

Office 1: Server Location
Internet Address: 66.12.76.189
Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway: 66.12.76.128
DNS 1: 4.2.2.1
DNS 2: 4.2.2.2

Office 2: Remote Location
Internet Address: 66.12.45.91
Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway: 66.12.45.90
DNS 1: 4.2.2.1
DNS 2: 4.2.2.2

Right now Office 1 is on a Domain called 1stManhattan.local while office 2 is on a workgroup. When I try to add the computers at office 2 to the 1stManhattan.local domain I get an error.

“The following error occurred when DNS was queried for the service location (SRV) resource record used to locate a domain controller for domain 1stManhattan.local:

The error was: "DNS name does not exist."
(error code 0x0000232B RCODE_NAME_ERROR)

The query was for the SRV record for _ldap._tcp.dc._msdcs.1stManhattan.local

Common causes of this error include the following:

- The DNS SRV record is not registered in DNS.