Sign in with
Your question

7970 buzzing sound

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
January 14, 2012 2:33:23 AM

Hi Forum,

So i've purchased a MSI 7970 recently and i've just noticed that it makes a wierd buzzing sound, bzzzzzz whenever

1. I run a game (BF3/Metro2033/Skyrim etc).
But if i'm not in any games, there is no buzzing sound.

2. This occurs regardless of me overclocking it or not

3. In Skyrim ==> only buzzes once i've loaded a game. If i start it and leave it on the menu screen there is no buz.

4. In battlefield 3, when it's loading between maps/loading hte lelve before joining into the game)

IS something wrong? lol

More about : 7970 buzzing sound

January 14, 2012 2:46:30 AM

I'm no expert, but I know when some graphics cards are under a lot of stress they can make a buzzing sound like that. My old 5870 did with furmark. With my laptop I always had a buzz/clicking sound when I gamed. Does the pitch/speed of the buzz sound speed up and slow down depending on the frame rate? Anyway sounds normal to me, but wait for advice from a 7970 owner.
m
l
a b U Graphics card
January 14, 2012 2:47:44 AM

buzzing through the speakers or from the gpu itself?

if it's not from the speakers, then your fan is fugly. It's under warranty so just rma it.

Actually check to make sure u pulled off all the clear plastic stuff that comes on the card. If some of that is left it might be causing the noise. otherwise rma.

if it's speaker noise, update your drivers to the newest from amd's website. If it doesn't fix it, rma.
m
l
Related resources
January 14, 2012 2:51:52 AM

That doesn't sound like a fan issue if it happens only in certain cases. Just go to CCC and manually set the fan to 100 or somewhere in that range and listen for it if you want to verify.
m
l
a b U Graphics card
January 14, 2012 2:59:09 AM

It could be a ferrite choke on the card, if the noise does not start when maxing the fan at no load, it is probably a ferrite choke or something similar.
m
l