Sign in with
Your question

Help Choosing My Hardware

Last response: in Systems
March 20, 2012 5:07:19 PM

Hey Everyone,
So about a week ago I decided to build my first PC. I've never done anything like this before, but considering I grew up with a keyboard in-hand, I feel prepared. (Not to mention I have Google). This is my first post on TomsHardware, so if this is not in the correct format, my apologies.

So let me preface this by commenting on what I want to get out of this PC. I play a lot of Starcraft 2. I want it to be able to handle that. With zero problems. I also plan to play Diablo 3 when it's released. Now, I am more concerned with these games running smoothly than I am how awesome they look. I would like better than average graphics, but I am not one of those gamers obsessed with playing everything on Max settings. I'm more concerned with saving money and achieving decent/better than average graphics WITHOUT lag. Sorry if that is a bit redundant but I want a computer that can handle large-late games (SC2) with multiple teammates. Okay, here are my parts:

CPU: Intel Core i5-2400 3.1GHz Quad-Core Processor ($179.99)

CPU Cooler: Master Hyper 212 EVO 82.9 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler ($29.33)

MOBO: Asus P8P67-M PRO (REV 3.0) Micro ATX LGA1155 Motherboard ($149.99)

RAM: Corsair XMS3 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1333 Memory ($55.78)

HDD: Samsung Spinpoint F3 500GB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($84.99)

GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 560 Ti 1GB Video Card ($229.99)

PSU: SeaSonic 620W ATX12V / EPS12V Power Supply ($86.99)

CASE: Cooler Master CM690 II Advanced ATX Mid Tower Case ($79.99)

So my questions are about my GPU and my RAM. Can I drop down to a GTX 550 or 460? Will it really make that much of a difference? (Keeping in mind I'm not concerned playing any game on Max graphics settings - high? sure. slightly above average? most definitely). Also. My RAM. Do I need 8GB or can i get away with 4GB?

Thank you all so much.

More about : choosing hardware