help partiioning and re-formating?

Sigma

Distinguished
Mar 28, 2001
My hard drive is already partitioned with a fat32 file system into one c drive. I want to format the drive and do a clean install of my operating system. Do i have to erase the partitions and logical drives, then re-partition and then format. or do i format the drive, then re-partition? do i use fdisk for this or is there a better way to do this? I've never done this before and am not sure of the steps.

Arrow

Splendid
Dec 31, 2007
The simplest way to do this is just use FDISK. I think that you should partition the drives the way you want, then format the drives. Then install Windows from there.

Rob
Please visit <b><A HREF="http://www.ncix.com/shop/index.cfm?affiliateid=319048" target="_new">http://www.ncix.com/shop/index.cfm?affiliateid=319048</A></b>

Magneto

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007
Sigma,

If your drive is already partitioned, and all you want to do is reformat and reinstall Windows, you should be able to run the format c: command from DOS (from a boot disk) and then proceed with the reinstall. If you want to change any of the partition info, or add a partition, then you can do Fdisk, or use another 3rd party utility like Partition Magic or Partition Commander, etc.. There are supposed to be a few FREE partitioners floating around out there too.
I hope this helps..
Phil

G